Skip to content

Toddlers and Yoga and a DVD Giveaway

February 2, 2010
tags: ,

If you’ve read some of my previous posts, you know that I love yoga.  My youngest child has been exposed to yoga since before birth. Prenatal yoga was a gift that helped me survive my pregnancy with her. And she and I did mommy and me yoga together when she was an infant. Once the babies in that class became walkers, the whole tone of the class changed – and eventually stopped. So I was very curious when I learned of the DVD, TOT YOGA: Yoga for You and Your Toddler from 10 Months to 3 Years Old. How were they going to to do yoga with toddlers? How were little ones who are always on the move and don’t attend to anything very long going to do yoga?

Well, what I learned is that they don’t; at least in the formal way that I had in my head before I watched the DVD. TOT YOGA has three main sections: Following Your Tot, Parent Led Yoga, and Your Yoga. The first two sections include children and the third is a routine for adults only. I felt very relaxed by the end of this DVD from just watching it. What I enjoyed most about this DVD is the peace and calmness that are evident in the interactions among the people in it. Real people, mostly yoga novices, are filmed for this DVD with their children. There seems to be no expectation, and certainly no pressure, for the children to actually do yoga. The parents seem to enjoy being in the presence of their children and modify which poses and stretches they do based on cues from the children’s movements and attention.

The instructor encourages the parents to “flow along with the environment.” The children in turn seem to flow in and out of periods of attention and amusement at their parents. This really seems to be the only way that you could do yoga with a true toddler. As children get a little older in their preschool years, more is possible. My mommy and me class stopped meeting because we moms were trying to have a “real” yoga class and we were too distracted by our moving, curious children. The TOT YOGA producers state that their DVD is not intended to be an instructional class, but rather they recommend that it be played in the background during play time as an inspiration for parent-child activity.

I would recommend this DVD for parents looking for a model of how to incorporate movement into their interactions with their children. The DVD provides some great examples of imaginative play and yoga as well as transition to calmness and just plain fun. However, I would not recommend this DVD for parents looking for yoga instruction. The filming does not always give a good view of poses and minimal instruction is provided. But getting to a good adult yoga class is not always possible when you’re the parent of a toddler, so in a pinch this DVD would be a good substitute and leave you feeling relaxed.

The TOT YOGA producers have offered a copy of their DVD for a giveaway. You can enter by signing up for my newsletter at www.drcuneo.com (or click the Special Report box on the right) or becoming an Empowered Parenting Fan on Facebook. Just be sure to leave a comment here as well. And if you already are a Fan or receive my newsletter, just leave a comment here to be entered. A winner will be randomly selected from the entries on February 15, 2010.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. February 3, 2010 10:45 am

    I’d love to win this dvd, as I’d review it, and possibly put it on my list of yoga for kiddos dvd list. (Plus I have a 3 year old, so she likes yoga too!)

    I’ve joined your fan page on facebook, as gail pickens-barger

    Thank you for the giveaway opportunity, and I look forward to your Empowered Parenting news!

    yogawithgaileee at gmail dot com

    gaileee

  2. Shannan permalink
    February 4, 2010 4:10 pm

    That sounds so interesting!

  3. Mary permalink
    February 10, 2010 7:57 am

    Love the idea of TotYoga. Huge Fan. Can I buy it if I don’t win it??

    • drcuneo permalink*
      February 10, 2010 8:38 am

      You can definitely buy it if you don’t win it. It is available in some stores or you can order online directly from the TOT YOGA site. Here’s the link: http://totyoga.com/purchase/

  4. Liz permalink
    February 10, 2010 9:38 am

    Thanks for the review of this DVD. I practice yoga and my 20 month old loves to watch and imitate me. It would be great to have a directed practice with this DVD so we could do it together.

  5. Melissa permalink
    February 10, 2010 10:13 am

    This sounds so interesting! I work at a preschool for 3-5 year olds. We currently do yoga poses with the kids in some classes, and they love it! This would be great to add!

Trackbacks

  1. The Power of a Smile « Drcuneo's Blog
  2. 2010 in review « Drcuneo's Blog

Leave a Reply

