Skip to content

Parenting Inspiration from Ladies Halfpipe

February 20, 2010

My family tends to get consumed by the Olympics whenever they’re on. We watch things we normally could care less about and we watch with real interest. My husband stays up late completely absorbed in curling competition. The other night we watched the Ladies Snowboard Halfpipe competition.

Anyone who knows me well, knows that not only have I never snowboarded (or have any desire to snowboard), but my personality would never be confused with one of the stereotypical snowboarder. I do not share the combination they seem to possess of huge physical risk-taking and a laid-back spirit. Yet I really enjoyed watching these young women compete the other night. While I was amazed by Shaun White’s skill and performance at the men’s competition, I was more impressed by the spirit of the women’s competition.

I really don’t wish for my daughter’s to become competitive snowboarders (but if by chance, they do, I’d support them in their pursuits), but I do wish for them to have some of the spirit in evidence at the competition. I was inspired by the competitors’ sense of camaraderie. Their warm hugs and congratulatory embraces of each other seemed to indicate a great sense of support across national borders. I was also truly impressed by their reactions to wipe outs and falls. They usually bounced up with a smile and a shrug.  Wouldn’t it be nice if we could all find a community where we could be supported to take risks as well as supported in the aftermath of our mistakes and missteps? Maybe we can strive to make our families such a community ~ a place to try to soar and attempt new things where we’ll be supported and celebrated no matter what the outcome.

One Comment leave one →
  1. February 26, 2010 10:23 pm

    I think we could learn alot from all of these athletes. They are absolutely incredibly. I do, however, cheer on the red and white (our women did play a superb game of hockey). The thrill of victory and the agony of defeat.I think the common thread among all athletes from around the world is the dedication, their passion, their drive, their focus, and their commitment – talk about empowering. I am in awe of all of the athletes.

Leave a Reply

