Skip to content

Celebrating Free Play!

March 21, 2010

Yesterday was a beautiful sunny day here in New York. It’s hard to believe that only a week ago we were being pummeled with torrential downpours and whipping winds. But yesterday I was able to take my youngest to the park with one of her friends for the first time in a very long time.

My youngest daughter is a naturally creative and imaginative child. Being the youngest, much of her life has consisted of being dragged around to her older sisters’ activities. And now that she’s old enough to participate in her own pursuits, she is involved in several organized activities. So her time for unstructured, free play is limited.

But yesterday we seized the day and she had a wonderful time with her friend. I really enjoyed eavesdropping on the fantasy world they were creating while running amidst the play structures of the park. I really need to make it a priority to give her more of these opportunities.

Free play is so important for our kids’ development – their language, their cognitive abilities, their social skills. I encourage you to look for opportunities to let your children just play. With our busy lives I know it isn’t always easy. How do you work free play time into your family’s life?

I also wanted to let you about a special offer I’m running this week. Please check out my Facebook Fan Page for more information and become a Fan while you’re there.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

