Skip to content

How Do You Recharge Yourself?

April 17, 2010

I haven’t been writing on my blogs too much in recent weeks. I’ve been in a whirlwind of travel for both work and for fun, my kids were off from school for over a week, and now we’re into high gear with sports and recital season. Just the increase in laundry alone is overwhelming! So I’ve been thinking about writing but not quite getting myself to sit down and get the words out. I’m here today writing because I finally stopped to take some of my own stress management advice and recharge myself.

I recharged myself with yoga ~ I was able to get to two classes in one week, which is a huge treat for me ~ and with a little shopping ~ nothing like a trip to Target and Pier 1 to restore myself!

It’s become cliché now to say that moms and dads need to take care of themselves in order to give of themselves in their parenting. I’m sure you’ve heard the “put on your own oxygen mask first” line applied to parenting. But don’t forget that there’s usually truth in clichés.

It is vitally important for parents to take care of themselves. If you feel depleted, you cannot give fully to others. However, part of the adjustment to parenting is that you don’t have the time to take care of yourself in ways that you likely had before you had children. The challenge is to find ways to recharge in the limited time you have. Make it a priority to make some time for yourself, engage your support network for help in getting that time for yourself, and shift your expectations about what it may take to recharge. And finally, hold a long range view. As your family grows over time, your time and ability for taking care of yourself will change along with it.

What recharges you? The answer to that question will vary from person to person. Perhaps it’s going for a run. Maybe it’s playing piano. Maybe it’s a long, hot bath. Or it could be a night out with your friends. Whatever it is, I encourage you to make time for it. And I’d love to hear about it in your comments below.

If you’d like more information on managing the stress of parenthood, read these previous posts on stress in early parenthood and the stress of learning new things.

Share

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 18, 2010 8:42 am

    I’m a little challenged in this area as I have two small children but I’m working on getting more me time. I go for runs twice a week. Saturday it’s a longer one and and my husband feeds the kids breakfast. I just met some girlfriends for lunch and we are planning an overnight spa day. I can’t wait!

    • drcuneo permalink*
      April 18, 2010 8:48 am

      It definitely is a challenge when your kids are young. You have to take what you can get when you can get it and it isn’t always exactly what you may want or need. It does get easier as they get older though. Have a wonderful time on your overnight spa trip. It sounds fantastic!

Leave a Reply

