Skip to content

Tuning Into Now

September 21, 2010

I had every intention this morning of writing today about my new Empowered Parenting Workbook. I’ll get to that later this week. Instead I thought I’d share with you today a podcast I listened to on my morning walk: Opening to Our Lives: Jon Kabat-Zinn’s Science of Mindfulness from Krista Tippett’s Being (formerly Speaking of Faith) radio show.

Mindfulness is something that I highly value. I believe we can become our best selves, and truly become empowered parents, if we can learn to be more mindful. Yet mindfulness is a practice that does not come easily. I need to remind myself frequently of its importance. There are multitudes of books and articles on the subject, but sometimes it can be more powerful to see it. During the podcast, a video of Kabat-Zinn speaking at Google was mentioned that I later took a peek at. The video is over an hour long, but I’d suggest watching from about 20 minutes into it until you feel you’ve had enough. You will come away with a real sense of what it’s like to be mindful.

The words that are really staying with me today from this video are, “We only have moments in which to live…The only time in which our life is unfolding is now.”  I thought it was worth sharing.

Share

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

