Skip to content

Family Holiday Traditions

December 1, 2010

Today’s video post is about one of my favorite family holiday traditions. What are some of your family traditions?

 

3 Comments leave one →
  1. December 2, 2010 11:49 am

    I really enjoy your BLOG, and it was lovely to hear about your family’s ADVENT Angels.

    One of my favorite family holiday traditions is to collect ornaments. Triming the tree is an special time — kind of like looking at a photo album because I mark each year the ornament was initially placed on the tree–and if it was a gift from someone–exactly who. Many of our ornaments are handmade. Some are goofy. Lots are old. I have the first felt ornament I made in grade school. As I put it on the tree, I think of my elementary school teachers and give thanks to all the doors which they helped me to open. I started this tradition mindfully while in high school–so went I went on a special family trips or school outings I looked for ornaments. Now, as I put them on my tree, I think of being with those old friends and especially think of the times my sister and I had together. After I became a therapist, “my kids” starting making and giving me ornaments. I absolutely ADORE all of them, and again I’m reminded of all of the wonderful moments and growth we shared together.

    • drcuneo permalink*
      December 2, 2010 1:54 pm

      Thanks so much for sharing your tradition Tammy. Collecting ornaments is a close second favorite tradition for me too. My mom gave us each an ornament every year and I still treasure my collection from childhood. I’ve continued that tradition with my own kids too. Decorating the Christmas tree each year does bring back lots of pleasant memories of people, places, and events.

Trackbacks

  1. Random Acts of Kindness « Drcuneo's Blog

Leave a Reply

